Going Green

Now, I know it’s two months late, but in the spirit of environmental awareness month I decided to go completely green, only using renewable resources to build and go exploring. What resources can I use? And what kind of mods (including Forestry) allow me to expand my renewable resources industry?

So far I have either wood or smooth stone (cobblestone + charcoal) as building material. Lots and lots of smooth stone, but no glass. Apples and wheat are both a good food source, and while pork is technically renewable, I haven’t found a way to get a reliable pig farm operational. Wool is available from spider string, and along with gold its one of the few renewable decorative materials I have available. Iron is possible, but zombies don’t drop near enough. So mining is going to be really really slow. What else is there in vanilla?

I know by using a couple of mods you can get iron from gold, dirt from wheat, and sand from humus. Sand can be turned into glass with charcoal (again, no coal), or bio-fuel if you go that way.

What I would really like to find is a mod that makes bricks renewable, or redstone. Right now we have no renewable redstone power source (that I know of). So there is no good way or automating my resource production in vanilla. Anyone ever thought of doing this?

Now, I know it’s two months late, but in the spirit of environmental awareness month I decided to go completely green, only using renewable resources to build and go exploring. What resources can I use? And what kind of mods (including Forestry) allow me to expand my renewable resources industry?

So far I have either wood or smooth stone (cobblestone + charcoal) as building material. Lots and lots of smooth stone, but no glass. Apples and wheat are both a good food source, and while pork is technically renewable, I haven’t found a way to get a reliable pig farm operational. Wool is available from spider string, and along with gold its one of the few renewable decorative materials I have available. Iron is possible, but zombies don’t drop near enough. So mining is going to be really really slow. What else is there in vanilla?

I know by using a couple of mods you can get iron from gold, dirt from wheat, and sand from humus. Sand can be turned into glass with charcoal (again, no coal), or bio-fuel if you go that way.

What I would really like to find is a mod that makes bricks renewable, or redstone. Right now we have no renewable redstone power source (that I know of). So there is no good way or automating my resource production in vanilla. Anyone ever thought of doing this?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

